top of page
Search
  • Dope Boss Mom

Dope Boss Mom Interview with Enovia Bedford




1. Tell our readers about your business.

VettDeck fills a void in sponsorship. It is a streamlined proposal development platform that offers an artificial intelligence solution to every event organizer and brand. The three segments served are clients who can’t convert existing relationships into funding opportunities, clients looking to establish relationships with brands, and companies seeking placement at inclusive and multicultural events. VettDeck currently serves clients in 7 major metropolitan cities (Dallas, TX, Oakland, CA,Atlanta, GA, New York NY, Miami, FL, Chicago, IL, Charlotte, NC). BLKTECHCLT provides learning labs for entrepreneurs and workforce development.


2. How did you become an entrepreneur?

I feel like I was born into it. I started my first company when I was 5, painting bobby pins and hair clip pins with nail polish. It was an insane mark-up. I expanded to home accessories and a magazine when I was seven. I probably had a total of 20 customers, nothing like the young entrepreneurs today but that was my start. My magazine had 1 issue that I took to school and friends would barter snacks to take a peak. It was a lot of work putting it together. My mom was super active in our lives, my sister and I had talent agents and managers and were on TV most of our childhoods. She set us up to be successful and look for other opportunities besides the standard go to school and have “this” type of job. It was more do what you want, experience life and make your own opportunities and it’s ok to do it with fear. She’s an attorney and worked as a top-level executive at an insurance company while she ran other businesses. She owned a transportation company and food trucks in my teen years. I saw what opportunities could be made with plugging into the right networks. Within a month she had contracts with the top radio stations in NYC to have drivers provide rides for the talent. She hired family members if someone wanted a limo and we didn’t have one she made arrangements with companies we knew that did. She made sure money came in for everyone. In the summer the food truck would roll out on a beach in Rhode Island. It gave me a different perspective of what businesses could be and how they could run without you having to do all of the work. We’re talking 20+ years ago when food trucks weren’t what they are today. We served lobster rolls, sandwiches etc. I would walk down the beach and look for people without colors to give coupons too. Those with colors I would ask if they needed to refill. I’ve always been a saleswoman. I started a career in jewelry design and that was fun and a creative outlet. I took it one step further and started a consulting firm teaching businesses how to do business with Walmart while I started my line into stores nationwide. Through that, I was able to purchase a license for Harve Bernard Bridal Jewelry and start another business. Along the way I started a marketing company focusing on sponsorship and realized that is where I wanted to be and expanded on that.


3. How do you balance work and family demands?

I have a great support team. My mom came down for the 18 months to help with my son, my son’s dad is super involved, he doesn’t always understand what I’m doing but I know I have his full support. We have plans every Saturday to do something fun, and I plan activities for us during the week too. We spend an hour bonding in the morning before daycare, whether we’re singing songs and dancing or reading books and stretching I love to spend my morning with him. In the evening we’ll go to the pool, a splash park, run errands etc. I limit the calls and texting and I do when he’s around. When he’s at school I have every minute of my day planned to make sure I maximize my time. The things that don’t get done can wait.


4. What would you have done differently if you knew then what you know now?

I’d be even more of a threat then if I knew what I know now. I would have incorporated AI, automation and machine learning into my business when it first started buzzing and not in the last 5 years.


5. What’s the best advice you ever received?

Live in the details, that’s where you thrive and not everyone is good at it. I didn’t realize that’s what I was doing. I would always find my way into companies and be an asset because I would take the tasks that no one wanted and make them shine. I was making myself irreplaceable but living in the details.


6. What is still your biggest challenge today (personal or professional)?

Getting it all done, so I’ve come to terms with that. I plan the best that I can. I also am learning to relax more. I can be very uptight when it comes to business and planning. I literally have to rub the middle of my forehead to unfurl my brows at times.

7. How do handle failure criticism?

I welcome it when it’s constructive. That’s where you grow. I believe surveys are important for that reason. that’s where you get to know where your holes are and can fill them up instead of allowing them to spread. Recently I received feedback about my site that was great and allowed me to immediately fix some glitches.


8. What surprising lessons have you learned along the way?

People will hire you and still not give you everything you need to complete the job. It’s unbelievable, I would assume if you are paying us that you would want the job completed as soon as possible so you can start seeing a ROI (return on investment). Nope, I have to beg and follow up with people to provide information.


9. What mobile apps can’t you live without?

My banking, credit card, and investment apps, Cash App, Venmo, Asana, Acuity, Canva, Hubspot, Slydial, Delta, Hopper, Instagram, Instacart, Takl, Hello Fresh, Tiny Scan, and Groupme.


10. What’s next for you?

Growing VettDeck by signing on more brands to use our services and continuing to grow BLKTECHCLT.


11. What do you want your legacy to be?

I’d like VettDeck, BLKTECH and the research reports that come with it to be my legacy. Whether either company is sold, being a founder of monumental companies is important to be. Starting these companies has helped shaped communities, myself, my son and has and will continue to create countless opportunities for others.


Bonus Question:

12. iPhone or Droid?

Droid Phone, Mac Computer & Ipad


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page