top of page
Search
  • Dope Boss Mom

Dope Boss Mom Interview with Lauren Williams-Mattox

Chief Curator | Chic Urban Mom (Life) & The Icon Collection







1. Tell our readers about your business.

I am a family and lifestyle blogger at Chic Urban Mom (Life). I also have a t-shirt line called "The Icon Collection." Both were born out of my need to see women who liked like my daughters and myself portrayed in a positive light.


2. How did you become an entrepreneur?

I guess you can say that I am a bit of a serial entrepreneur. From lemonade stands and slanging friendship bracelets as a little girl to hustling hairstyles in the dorms in undergrad!


3. How do you balance work and family demands?

Honestly, I don’t. I have finally come to realize that balance is a myth. It ain’t real…Sometimes my family is at the top of my priority list and my work is second and sometimes is vice versa.


4. What would you have done differently if you knew then what you know now?

I think the only thing that I would do differently is start earlier. Instead of doubting myself, not thinking that I could do it, caring what others thought I would just go for it sooner!


5. What’s the best advice you ever received?

Be true to me. I don’t try to have the perfect blog, the perfect feed, I do what works for me and my brand and my family period. There is an audience out there for you, your tribe if you will. You just have to figure out who they are.


6. What is still your biggest challenge today (personal or professional)?

Doubting myself and not trusting my first instinct. For so long people have said “you should blog like her, take photos like her, post to social media this many times”. I was and still sometimes drive myself crazy. My audience follows me because I am authentic and that’s how I need to remain.


7. How do handle failure criticism?

I can handle constructive criticism very well, what I can’t handle it criticism from someone who has never constructed anything.


8. What surprising lessons have you learned along the way?

I need to give myself more credit. I was returning from a vacation with my family one time and a lady who follows my blog recognized me in the airport. My husband and I looked at each other like “WOW”. It felt good because sometimes you feel like you are writing and posting blogs into a big black hole.


9. What mobile apps can’t you live without?

Amazon, AppleMusic & Tidal, Walmart Grocery, Audible, Podcasts


10. What’s next for you?

I am in the process of rebranding my blog from Chic Urban Mom to Chic Urban Life. Simple change but a great impact. I wanted to keep the parts that my audience knows me for but also expand outside of focusing on motherhood. I will get to talk more about my Interior Design and travel along with my family as well.


11. What do you want your legacy to be?

That I designed a life & space that I loved, and created opportunities for my children & grandchildren so they never have to beg anyone else for an opportunity.



Bonus Question:

12. iPhone or Droid?

iPhone all day baby!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page